Digital Poodle

Soul Crush"



•  12" Yellow Vinyl (300 copies)
•  Digital Download


A1.  Soul Crush
A2. Soul Crush (Adam X Revision)
B1.  Soul Crush (Zoviet France Virtual Mix)
04. Soul Crush (Manie Sans Délire Revision) *

* Digital download exclusive

Suction Records presents the 2nd volume in a vinyl reissue/remix series by Toronto’s Digital Poodle: “Revision! Vol. 2 - Soul Crush” (suction037). Formed in 1986 by Heiki Sillaste, Digital Poodle began self-releasing experimental/EBM tapes in the late-80s and by the early-‘90s had several releases licensed to
international labels like Hyperium, Cleopatra and Ninja Tune. “Soul Crush” was an underground hit in EBM/alternative clubs around the world, particularly in Toronto. Also making an impact was Zoviet France’s Virtual Mix; a hypnotic, 13-minute psychedelic techno trip which was actually a live-in-studio jam between Digital Poodle and industrial music legends :zoviet*france: and became an unlikely rave staple, spun by DJs like Sven Väth. Both mixes are featured here, alongside a killer revision by none other than Adam X, one of this legendary techno producer’s rare remix appearances. One of the few artists to credibly bridge the gap between EBM and techno, Adam X delivers a pummelling dancefloor stormer, with Heiki’s distorted vocals taking the Adam X sound even closer than usual to a pure,
vintage-EBM sound.

The digital-only bonus remix comes from June Records’ Manie Sans Délire, a modern wave/EBM duo who turn in a bare-bones-minimal, vintage-electro revision with sparse synths and cutting TR-707 percussion. For bonus EBM points, the 12” was (re-)mastered by industrial music legend Eric Van Wonterghem (Absolute Body Control, The Klinik, Monolith).





> Digital Poodle